Home > Welcome > Naritasan Shinshoji Temple > Naritasan park
As the name Naritasan (means Narita-mountain) implies Naritasan Shinshoji temple is located on the top of the hill. Luscious woodland grows behind the main hall (temple building), which symbolizes Naritasan. This area is Naritasan park (Naritasan koen / Admission free). It was opened in 1928 and covers an area of 165,000 sq. meters.
The inside of the park is designed to be in harmony with nature and visitors can stroll along the footpaths surrounded by natural habitat. The three ponds (Ichi-no-ike, Ni-no-ike, and San-no-ike) at the center of the park are particularly beautiful. Plum trees and cherry blossoms bloom in the spring, and the new green leaves in the early summer which turn red in the fall. From the end of February until the beginning of March, the famous Japanese plum (Ume) Festival is held. An open-air tea ceremony is also held where you can experience typical Japanese beauty to the full.
Inside the park, there is Naritasan calligraphy museum (Naritasan shodo bijutsukan). Next to the park, there is Naritasan Reiko-kan museum (Naritasan Reiko-kan) and Naritasan Library of Buddhism (Naritasan bukkyo toshokan).